If you or someone you know is facing a fourth DUI Charge in Atlanta, then please have them call the Howard Law Group. As a Former Prosecutor, we can tell you that the State will be seeking the maximum penalty. For some, this is not the appropriate course of action. You will need an Atlanta DUI Lawyer to help you.
If you have been arrested on a fourth Atlanta DUI, it’s vital that you understand your legal options. An arrest does not mean that you will be automatically convicted, even in cases of multiple DUI. There are many factors that an experienced attorney can review and potentially use to weaken the prosecution’s case against you. This may lead to favorable options such as case dismissal, not guilty verdicts, reduced charges and more.
ATLANTA FOURTH DUI LAWYER
PENALTIES AND PUNISHMENTS IN GEORGIA FOR A FOURTH OR SUBSEQUENT DUI
Georgia’s felony version of the DUI law provides for felony penalties including:
• a minimum sentence of one year with a maximum sentence of five years in Georgia State Prison (the court may suspend all but 90 days of actual incarceration);
• a fine from $1,000 up to $5000 plus all statutory surcharges;
• A requirement of at least 60 days of community service (although the judge can waive this requirement if the person is sentenced to three or more years in prison) ;
• successful completion of a DUI school and treatment program including an alcohol or drug abuse evaluation, assessment and completion of all recommended follow up treatment.
For DUI convictions that occurred before July 1, 2008, those offenses cannot be counted a predicate offenses under the felony version of the DUI laws for a fourth or subsequent conviction. Instead, the offense can be charged as a third or subsequent DUI which is a “high and aggravated” misdemeanor.
Contact the Howard Law Group ASAP if you are facing an kind of an Atlanta DUI charge.