Howard Law Group

Georgia’s driving under the influence (DUI) laws make it illegal for drivers of all ages to operate motor vehicles if they have blood alcohol content (BAC) percentages of:

  • 0.08% or higher, if they’re 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
  • 0.04% or higher, if they’re operating commercial vehicles.
  • 0.02% or higher, if they’re younger than 21 years old.

DUI convictions stay on your driving record for the rest of your life.

Understand Your DUI Penalties

Specific DUI penalties depend on your age, license type, and previous DUI convictions, but usually consist of:

.

DUI Penalties: Younger Than 21

Like most states, Georgia has zero tolerance when it comes to drivers younger than 21 years old operating motor vehicles with alcohol in their systems.

Drivers Age 15 and Younger

First DUI Offense

  • Driver’s license suspension until 17 years old.
  • $210 fee.
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program and all associated costs.

Second DUI Offense

  • License suspension until 18 years old.
  • $310 fee.
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program and all associated costs.

Third DUI Offense

  • License suspension until 18 years old.
  • $410 fee.
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program and all associated costs.

 

 

Controlled Substance and Marijuana Possession

If you’re convicted of possessing, distributing, or using an illegal controlled substance or marijuana, it also affects your driving privileges―even if it took place outside of your car.

You face:

  • License suspension for 180 days (1st offense), 1 year (2nd offense), or 5 years (3rd offense; eligible for a limited driving permit after 2 years).
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program and all associated costs.
  • $210 fee for license reinstatement.
  • Possible limited driving permit.

NOTE: These are in addition to any other court-imposed penalties, such as jail time.

 

 

Generally, commercial drivers face stiffer penalties than drivers with regular passenger vehicle licenses.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) handles regulations and penalties associated with commercial vehicle drivers throughout the country, including the 0.04% BAC limit. Visit the FMCSA’s Disqualification of Drivers for specific information.

Write a comment:

*

Your email address will not be published.

© 2015 The Howard Law Group | Designed by Pressprosites.
Top
Follow us: